

STATE OF MONTANA BOARD OF PARDONS AND PAROLE POLICY DIRECTIVE

Policy No. BOPP 3.3	Subject: EMPLOYEE TIME MANAGEMENT	
Chapter 3: HUMAN RESOURCES		Page 1 of 2
Section 3: Human Resources		Effective Date: June 1, 2022
Signature: /s/ Joseph McElroy, Chief of Staff		Revised:

I. POLICY

The Montana Board of Pardons (BOPP) follows uniform procedures for administering leave, overtime compensation, and nonexempt compensatory time, and complies with the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), Montana's Wage and Hour Laws, and applicable Montana Operations Manual standards, administrative rules, and state statutes.

II. APPLICABILITY

All BOPP.

III. DEFINITIONS

<u>Overtime</u> – Hours worked by a nonexempt employee which exceed forty (40) hours within the established workweek beginning at 12:01 a.m. Saturday and ending at midnight Friday and subject to a premium rate which is one and one-half (1-1/2) times the employee's regular hourly rate of compensation.

IV. BOPP DIRECTIVES

A. General Timekeeping Requirements

- 1. All employees are required to record time worked on the MINE system after the last shift of the pay period, employees without access to the MINE system will record time on a time sheet issued by the payroll office.
- 2. Supervisors are responsible for the following:
 - a. submit time records based on the supervisor's knowledge of hours worked, if an employee fails to submit a time record, the employee is responsible for notifying the agency of necessary corrections after submission
 - b. verify employee's hours worked prior to approving time records; and
 - c. approve or deny requests for leave in writing; e-mail responses are acceptable.
- 3. BOPP employees who wish to apply for any type of leave must request it from their immediate supervisor or Board Chair in advance, according to the practice established.

C. Overtime and Nonexempt Compensatory Time

1. Board Chair or designee must consider the following prior to approving overtime/compensatory time:

Policy No. BOPP 3.3	Chapter 3. Human Resources	Page 2 of 2	
Subject: EMPLOYEE TIME MANAGEMENT			

- a. the employee's exempt or nonexempt classification under the FLSA
- b. the first 40 hours of paid time in any workweek between 12:01 a.m. Saturday and midnight Friday are regular hours; and
- c. a supervisor may, according to *MOM Overtime and Nonexempt Compensatory Time Policy*, adjust an employee's work schedule or require an employee to take time off without pay to maintain a 40-hour week.
- 2. Due to unfunded liability, employees are limited to 60 hours of accrued nonexempt compensatory time. If an employee will exceed accrual limits in a payroll period, overtime is paid unless the supervisor and employee have agreed upon larger accrual limits in a written and signed agreement submitted to Payroll, the agreement must include the following:
 - a. justification for accrual beyond 60 hours
 - b. the maximum limit of accrual approved is 120 hours
 - c. the balance will be reduced to or below 60 hours within the current biennium
 - d. language allowing the department to pay out the accrued balance or modify the agreement at any time.
- 3. Employees will request and obtain approval for any hours worked outside the regularly scheduled shift in advance.
- 4. Prior to an employee transferring or promoting to a FLSA exempt position all non-exempt compensatory time will be paid out at the employee's current rate of pay.
- 5. A supervisor will administer FLSA exempt and non-exempt compensatory time in accordance with MOM Overtime and Nonexempt Compensatory Time Policy.

V. CLOSING

- 1. Provisions of this policy not required by statute will be followed.
- 2. Questions concerning this policy should be directed Board Chair or designee and/or to Department of Corrections payroll specialist or Human Resources.

VI. REFERENCES

- A. The Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, Title 29 U.S.C, Chapter 8, Sections 201-219, as amended
- B. Montana Operations Manual (MOM)
- C. Department of Administration, State Human Resource Division Guides: Paid Military Leave in Montana Guide and Family and Medical Leave Act Guide
- D. FMLA, USSERRA, MTSERRA and the State of Montana Military Leave Guide FMLA Federal Regulations Part 825

VII. ATTACHMENT

None